friends, life, toronto

Dundas Peak

The only purposely planned hiking excursion that I went to this year locally was to Dundas Peak (while alongside visitng Mac the alma mater). Not quite sure what I was so busy with all summer and fall because I normally love planning excursions!

img_0131

Even though I semi-lived in Hamilton for a good 4 years during my studies at McMaster, I always went home on the weekends as much as I could, and barely went around town…let alone go hiking. It was my first time at Dundas Peak and I had only seen of it in pictures on social media.  Little did I know the hike to the peak was so short ._.

Or how it was flooded with tourists!

img_0137

At the top! Gear list for anyone interested – Arcteryx jacket, Black Diamond backpack, Lowa Boots hiking boots, pants are Ivivva (Lululemon’s kids line). Obsessed with them all! Sunglasses – Tom Ford, haha.

I was in full hiking gear because I had just purchased new hiking boots and hiking bag (in preparation for Africa!!), even brought my beloved and handy platypus water bag – and looked extremely out of place as most of the crowd were in casual / fashionable gear. I suppose at least my walk was very comfortable and safe…

img_0102

The view from the peak is quite nice, but hiking trail wise and especially if you want to be more immersed inside a forest, I probably wouldn’t say this is the best place to go given the crowd. I found Rouge Conservation more tranquil to see the changing leaves – and you supposedly can watch salmon going upstream too. However, there may be better side trails at Dundas Peak that I did not get the opportunity to discover.

img_0139

The other downside for Dundas Peak is you have to pay for a $10 car entrance fee as well as a $5 fee per passenger.

 

Extras: 

Great lunch at Bean Bar (no pics) – awesome grilled cheese, calamari and truffle fries. Wide variety of cakes!! We wanted to get one each but was too stuffed.

img_0145

Mac Dboat at Mac

Apparently from afar at the Student Centre, I looked like a student and the rest of them couldn’t even recognize me.

img_0141

MDCL!!!!

Standard

Leave a Reply

