events, Fitness, life, toronto

Aerial Yoga

Aerial Yoga, or as my friend Thomas called it – flying yoga.

img_7917

I gave it my first shot through a Groupon deal at Moon Moo Life in Markham (currently there is still a deal). I originally visited Moon Moo Life through a Yelp fitness event, but on that day the instructor was injured and the class was postponed until a later time which I unfortunately missed.

But I decided to give it a try on my own regardless. I had been wanting to look for a new exercise/hobby to get into because in summer there is dragonboat, winter there is snowboarding…but what is there to do throughout the rest of the year? I find myself increasingly uninterested in doing cardio, circuit training, lifting, or even those Goodlife classes that I once succumbed to doing with friends. But I felt the need to do some form of exercise other than for looks, but also just to remain healthy. ¬†Over time through various hot yoga deals, I felt that I personally enjoyed yoga more and more – maybe because it’s more passive, maybe because the only weight I need to lift is my own. I also desperately need work on my posture.

Aerial yoga seemed like a good branch off to try something newūüôā

I was lucky enough to¬†rope in my friend Nancy to join me so I would not have to conquer it alone. She was so much better than me because I’m quite inflexible and fear being upside down.

img_7913

We had a one month unlimited pass so I tried my best to go twice a week! Unfortunately Nancy wasn’t able to as she was frequently busy with work that I only got to get some photos on our first lesson!

img_7909

This was our most “basic” and starting pose for all other poses – the Butterfly. ¬†Over time I got a bit better at some of the more advanced poses, which I think mostly just takes time for you to be comfortable with being in the air more than anything.

What I liked:

  1. Class size was relatively small usually around 10
  2. The assistant instructor goes around to help those in need (me being one of them in the start)
  3. ¬†They don’t force you to do things you can’t or don’t feel comfortable with and did have a specific class for beginners
  4. Reasonable hours – a few nights after work around 6:30pm and weekend mornings
  5. Quiet class – although the studio offers MANY other types of programs: tae kwon do, dance, art etc…they are never paired together at the same time despite there is physical capacity to run both concurrently.
What I didn’t like :
  1. ¬†They were not very eager to adjust the height of the knots on the ropes. I’m pretty short so most of them were a bit too tall for me. I was able to climb up through other loops to reach the knot for sitting/lying type poses, but to put my leg through the knotted loop while standing on the ground was at times impossible as my toes barely just reached the knot…. ¬†Most of the time they insisted¬†that it was the correct height for me and only when you complain more profusely do they reluctantly adjust. I’ve seen this occur a few times for other students too who are not as flexible.
  2. ¬†Questionable on how often the ropes are cleaned/changed …..

Overall however, it was a fun and challenging experience for sure! However at regular membership price I think I do prefer hot yoga.

At The Wonderful World of Circus (another Groupon trial for another post), I was able to do this with my aerial yoga skills!

img_0002

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

