life

2015

When I was compiling my top 9 memories of the year while everyone was doing their best nine Instagram photos (I wanted to be a part of it too and to also be nostalgic of what I had done the past year), I was a bit disappointed and shocked that I had difficulty in choosing my last 1-2 photos. I thought I had done more.

I felt like I had at the least, I mean, I went to freaking Peru!

Here is said collage:


This collage making has showed me that if I want to have more memorable moments / proud moments I have got to do more in 2016. But it has also allowed me to realize a lot of memorable moments don’t have to be big per se where a photo was taken to commemorate.

In a similar fashion to last year, here’s a list in no particular order of moments that I am proud of and thankful for.

  1. Finishing the CMA board report and obtaining my designation
  2. Completing the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu and making great new friends along the way
  3. Participating in my first 10K race and completing it at a time very close to my one hour target (I blame the heat, it was ridiculously hot that day)
  4. Learning how to snowboard (kinda) and going on an awesome yet frigid road trip to Lake Placid (New York, Vermont…same difference)
  5. Proving myself in the wilderness through several camping trips this summer and of course in Peru!
  6. Meeting and having an awesome group of friends that I can call my regulars
  7. Fulfilling my promise of visiting Bea in San Francisco
  8. Getting a new job, again. Hopefully I’ll be here for a longer run.
  9. Everyone that accepts my weird and whiny antics and frequent resting bitch face and somehow still loves me

I was reading Mark Manson’s article earlier last week on how habits are a better action item than goals for a New Year’s resolution and it made a lot of sense to me… As habits are small tasks you do that compile (or in his words, compound) to help attain the final goal / desired result. His theory is that once the habit is formed it becomes more easy to ultimately meet your end goal, as you will be regularly and habitually be working towards it. Supposedly it only takes 30 days to form a habit! Isn’t that amazing?

Many of the habits I want are similar to last year’s: getting back to that gym, having a more tidy room on a daily basis, having a less lazy skincare routine, and maybe to be more sociable and less judgemental of strangers.

I’m looking forward to what 2016 will bring. One thing is for sure, I’m going to Dubai in May 😎

Standard

Leave a Reply

