friends, life, travel

Vermont.

I would like to apologize for telling you all that I went to Vermont for Family Day long weekend….Long story short, I have poor geography and was given wrong information, thus mistaken!! I actually went to Lake Placid, New York  – home of the 1932 and 1980 Winter Olympics.

I always complain about the lack of vacation days causing my inability to travel, so when the opportunity arose to join a snowboarding trip at Lake Placid, I took it. I can’t say it is the most impromptu trip I’ve been on (I think I went to New York City once a couple years ago on a whim too), but its on the list as it was a very #YOLO decision, for lack of better words. I was quite indecisive about going for the whole week prior because I didn’t know a majority of the people going, had paranoia of getting lost in the mountain alone without data, and fear of getting left alone because my snowboarding skills would be sub par comparatively.. Luckily I was able to rope Derek in last minute. And he wouldn’t ditch me😀

I snowboarded once during high school but haven’t gone even skiing since. This year however, I made the decision to buy all of my own gear since I finally found people to go snowboarding often with. Having my own gear really was all the motivation I needed to finally learn the sport – despite all the falling, embarrassment, and bruises, I’m improving!  I failed so much at the lifts at Whiteface Mountain that the staff fully knew who I was and would laugh and joke with me each time they saw me. At the end of the day, I managed to get off the lift successfully !!! It was quite a feat, even the employee at the lift gave me a thumbs up. I think I made his day with my wipe outs coming off the lift – especially the one time where I ran into Derek and he nearly fell on me. You’re welcome.

I have to admit, one of my favourite things about travelling or doing any remotely interesting activity, is the photo opps. I follow a lot of landscape photographers on Instagram haha, so I had to give landscape photography a shot while I had the scenery available.

Lake Placid was beautiful. Mountainous scenery was visible everywhere within town, as it is right by Adirondack Mountains. Unfortunately as we went in one of the coldest days, I don’t have as many photos as I would have liked and none of the town at all.

Other than snowboarding we had plans to do other winter activities since many of them were quite readily available, since Lake Placid was an Olympic town and all.  There was dog sledding, tobogganing, snow tubing, skating, and bob-sledding.  We did none of these things in the end though. But that didn’t make the trip any less enjoyable! It was nice just to get away from town and have a mini vacation for the weekend. It gave me time to slow down, relax, and get that “away from real life” feeling which you can only truly get when you’re out of town.

We spent our non-boarding day walking around Lake Placid main street and its neighbouring town, Saranac Lake which had a Winter Carnival going on. Unfortunately there was barely any festivities happening when we arrived, but they had several interactive sculptures and an ice palace which we acted like tourists around.

More landscape shot attempts..

This trip allowed me to make some awesome new friends, improve on my snowboarding (thanks Derek for being a great teacher!) and travel to a place that I have never been….or knew existed:/. All in all I think it was a memorable weekend, and I’m so glad that I made the choice to go🙂

I think this impromptu trip was a great start to the new year!

Standard

Leave a Reply

