events, family, food, toronto

Winterlicious at O&B

I went a bit crazy this year and booked myself 4 winterlicious meals in the span of 2 weeks. In my defence, Winterlicious is like an event for me so I treat it like so. My first Winterlicious for the year was at Oliver & Bonacini Cafe Grille at Bayview Village.  (On a side note, are any of you watching Master Chef Canada? Michael Bonacini is a judge on it!!)

Over the past 1 to 2 years or so, I’ve been trying to assimilate my parents into my food loving, “fat fo’ lyfe” lifestyle by introducing to them new restaurants and types of cuisine. One thing they quite enjoy is Winterlicious at O&B – we went together for the first time last year. So this year, we decided to go again.  I would love to eat with them at a restaurant downtown (where most of the Winterlicious participants are), but it is just too much of a hassle for us as unfortunately both my parents and I don’t like taking the subway, nor know our way around downtown well. Maybe someday when I get over my fear of driving and parking downtown!

 

For lunch, my dad and I both chose the Mexican-Asian inspired dishes of Yellow Corn Tortilla Soup and Beef Bulgogi Quesadilla. While my mom got the Chopped Rocket & Romaine Salad and Blackened Haddock Hot Pot.
No pictures of our desserts because my parents dug in before I had the chance : ‘(   We all picked different desserts so we had all 3 of the options of Warm Ontario Cranberry Date Pudding, Mayan Spiced Chocolate Panna Cotta and Cheese & O&B Artisan Crisps.  Dessert in general, other than the cheese were on the sweet side. I got the cheese & crisps dish which wasn’t spectacular as I should’ve expected, but I really liked the refreshing quince jelly and fruit it came paired with.
I’m looking forward to seeing what the Summerlicious menu will be like, and am also interested in going for brunch! I hear they have chicken & waffles.

 

Oliver & Bonacini Cafe Grill on Urbanspoon

Standard

Leave a Reply

